School of Dentistry

 “To direct and guide students and the general public in attaining quality of life through quality oral and other related health research, training, education and public service”.

“To become a centre for revolutionizing oral health in Tanzania and in the African region”.


  • To produce graduates in oral health sciences for oral health care systems.
  • To train specialists and scientists in oral health and related disciplines.
  • To train allied oral health personnel
  • To carry out research in oral health and related sciences
  • To provide continuing professional education in oral health.
  • To provide specialized oral health services to patients and the community.
  • To provide consultancy and advisory services to the government, general public and international agencies in the field of oral health
  • To review programmes and introduce new programmes as required.



The Dean is the overall in-charge of administration and academic programs, and works in close collaboration with the three heads of departments and Head of the Dental Department of the Muhimbili National Hospital, who is responsible for day to day clinical activities in dentistry.

The process of ensuring the smooth running of the key functions of the school: teaching, research and services to patients and community at large is mainly driven by a democratic process achieved through the existing and functional School Board (the highest organ that oversees the daily activities of the School), and the Dental Building Clinical Services Committee that constitute MNH heads of firm and School of Dentistry heads of department. 
Three committees assist the School Board namely: Year Conveners’ Committee, Research and Publications Committee, and Curriculum Development committee.
The School has three Departments namely 1) Oral Surgery & Oral Pathology with three units (oral surgery, oral medicine and oral pathology, 2) Preventive & Community Dentistry has three units (preventive & community dentistry, paedodontics and orthodontics), and 3) Restorative Dentistry has four distinct units (cariology/operative dentistry, prosthodontics, dental biomaterials and periodontology).
The clinical area is arranged on three floors, each with a varying number of dental treatment chairs. Other teaching facilities within the school include a fully equipped Phantom Head Laboratory as well as a Dental technology laboratory. The various classrooms are spaced and comfortable and are equipped with audio-visual equipment.


The school rendered services to the public include all levels of the oral health service structure.
Besides curative services in oral and maxillo-facial surgery, conservative dentistry, endodontics, prosthetics, periodontology, paediatric dentistry and orthodontics, preventive services also prevail.
In addition, the school has potential to conduct seminars for continuing education, short courses, workshops conferences, consultancy and contracted research in the field of oral health for the consumers within and outside Tanzania.

We provide all the specialist expertise needed for specific dental treatment methods. We are an excellent choice for anyone who requires a second opinion.
In certain cases patients may not be eligible for treatment within the educational frame-work; however, they will have the option of being referred to a specialized department.

Loading ...