School of Public Health and Social Science

The School of Public Health and Social Sciences (SPHSS) is one of five schools that make up Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS); the others being Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, and Nursing. The School was created through the amalgamation of the former Institute of Public Health, the Institute of Developmental Studies and the institute of Primary Health Care and Continuing Education in accordance with the collective promotion of these departments to university status.
The Institute of Public Health however dates back to July 1991 when it was established after the then faculty of medicine was upgraded into a college. Currently the SPHSS has six departments: Behavioural Sciences; Community Health; Developmental Studies; Epidemiology and Biostatistics; Parasitology and Medical Entomology; and Environmental and Occupational Health.

Vision Statement

To become a centre of excellence in the field of Public Health both at home in Tanzania, East Africa, and beyond.

Mission Statement

To improve the health of people in Tanzania through teaching, research, consultancy and public health services using public health principles. All these elements also aim at addressing the core functions of the University: training of human resources for health in both formal and continuing education as well as using professional development approaches; conducting research relevant to solving community health problems; and providing technical assistance in various public health disciplines to partners, collaborators, ministries and implementers of public health interventions. The School realizes that collaborative work with various stakeholders and partners is fundamental to achieving these noble objectives.

The School has a total of 47 members of staff 24 of these having acquired PhDs from various re-known Universities across the world thus bringing home a wealth of skills, experience and competences to share with stakeholders especially students. The School has a wealth of experience in conducting research and community service activities within Tanzania and beyond and collaborates with a number of partner Universities, Governments, Research Institutions and not least the communities we serve.

The school members of academic staff teach across the University in cross cutting subjects, and the School is host to one undergraduate and seven postgraduate programmes with a total of 71 undergraduate and 145 postgraduate students. Summaries of the current programmes are presented hereunder. One new undergraduate Programme namely BSc Health Psychology and five new Master Programmes namely MSc Monitoring and Evaluation, MSc Health Promotion, MSc Biostatistics, MA International Health and Gender Studies, and MSc Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety are planned in the near future.



Loading ...